161MC: Lecture Reflection (7/3/17)

I feel really excited coming into this module as working in television is one of my main goals for after I graduate and I’m hoping to gain some important skills from this module and get a sense of what it’s like to work on a professional TV set.

The behind-the-scenes look at the BBC’s Big Friday Wind-Up was really interesting, especially seeing how different the set looked when viewed from the back, Ed Sharpe pointing out how it “doesn’t look so spectacular”. It really demonstrates how carefully constructed and composed everything is on a studio based TV programme as it all looks much less impressive when taken out of the intended frame. It reminded me of when I saw the set of The One Show on a tour of the BBC studios and it appeared much smaller in person than on the screen, the tour guide told me how they use special cameras to make everything wider and stretch the image to give that sense of a big space, which actually causes the whole “the camera adds ten pounds” thing, as the people on screen are made to look wider too.

When roles were explained in the video I was really intrigued particularly by the role of the script supervisor as it seems to be quite a pivotal role and to require a keen focus and the ability to direct others, which I think I could do well. I think I’d definitely rather have a role in the gallery than on the production floor, the gallery roles seem more challenging and also like a better learning experience as this will likely be the only opportunity to work with some of this equipment, whereas I can work with cameras on any module.

I am looking forward to learning more about Talkback, about the code language used to simplify instructions to make them easy for people to understand in the studio. I think it will be really useful for me as I have taken on leadership positions in a few projects so far and at times it’s been difficult to direct my team quickly and efficiently when trying to convey my meaning  and a unified and acknowledged code language would definitely help with this issue.

I think working on a magazine show is quite exciting because magazine shows can take a huge variety of forms in terms of their stylistic qualities and content (Top Gear vs This Morning), but at the same time they all share certain conventions and structure and require a sense of professionalism, particularly by the presenters. Working in “live” conditions also requires a great deal of professionalism as you must be focused on your task at all times.

Leave a Reply

